Amalienborg Palace

The winter residence of The Royal Family.

Situated between the city and the harbour, Amalienborg is a major work of Danish architecture designed by the architect Nicolai Eigtved in the 1750s. Four palaces surround Amalienborg Palace Square, with its equestrian statue of King Frederik V. The palaces were originally built as residences for four high-ranking aristocrats, but when the old Christiansborg Palace burnt down in 1794 the royal family took up residence at Amalienborg. Since then Denmark’s reigning monarchs have lived in Amalienborg’s palaces. 

Christian VII’s Palace is Queen Margrethe II’s palace for guests and official receptions. The palace, which was built in 1750–54 for Count Adam Gottlob Moltke, forms the setting for official events such as the annual New Year Banquet.

The palace is not open to the public.

The Royal Guard changes every two hours, with a complete change of the guard every day at 12 p.m.

Christian VIII’s Palace houses the museum Amalienborg where you can take a royal journey through the past 150 years of the monarchy, and visit the private chambers of previous kings and queens, maintained exactly as they lived in them. The museum also introduces visitors to the daily lives of today’s royal family.

In June, July and August there is daily entry to the Royal Representation Rooms, the Gala Hall and other state rooms which are still used by the royal family. During the rest of the year the rooms are only open on Saturdays.

Frederik VIII’s Palace is the official residence of Crown
Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary. The palace is not open
to the public.

Christian IX’s Palace is the official residence of Queen
Margrethe II and the Prince Consort. A raised flag at the palace
shows when the queen is in residence. The palace is not open
to the public.

Amalienborg Palace

Christian VIII's Palace 
1257 Copenhagen K